Living by Vow - Table of Contents

A Practical Introduction to Eight Essential Zen Chants and Texts


Editor’s Preface        
Author’s Preface      

1. Living by Vow: The Four Bodhisattva Vows      

2. Awakening to Incompleteness: The Verse of Repentance       

3. Final Shelter: The Verse of the Three Refuges

4. Cultivating the Virtuous Field: The Robe Chant           

5. Continuous Circle of Offering: The Meal Chants          

6. Sound of Emptiness: The Heart Sutra   

7. All Is One, One Is All: Merging of Difference and Unity           

8. Endless Practice Here and Now:

The Verse for Opening the Sutra

Glossary of Names    
Glossary of Terms and Texts          
About the Author